Warning: include(/home/teamboc/public_html/teamSpecific/2019/includes/common.inc): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/bjracing/public_html/includes/common.inc on line 43

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/home/teamboc/public_html/teamSpecific/2019/includes/common.inc' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/bjracing/public_html/includes/common.inc on line 43
- 2019 V8 Supercar Championship Season - News - SANDOWN 500 PREVIEW


A fast and flowing circuit laid around a horse racing track, the Sandown circuit is all about having good horsepower for the long runs up and down into the two long straights. The fast esses section at the end of the back straight leading into Dandenong Road corner is one of the best sequences of corners in the championship. First opened in 1962, Sandown hosted the Australian Grand Prix six times and in 1964 it hosted an international six-hour touring race, which eventually became the Sandown 500.

Circuit Length – 3.1 Kilometres

Circuit Direction – Anti-Clockwise

Average Speed – 164km/ph

Maximum Speed – 270 km/ph

Fastest Point – Back Straight

Slowest Point – Turn 3

Fast Fact: Sandown has hosted 46 ATCC/Supercars Championship events, more than any other circuit in history.

Qualifying Lap Record:  Jamie Whincup, Triple Eight Race Engineering, Holden Commodore VF, 1m08.5730s, 2014

Race Lap Record: Chaz Mostert, Prodrive Racing Australia, Ford Falcon FGX, 1m09.3416s, 2015

TRACK TIMES (Local Times)

Friday 16th September

11:20-11:50 - Practice One

13:35-14:05 - Practice Two (Co-Driver Session)

16:35-17:05 - Practice Three (Co-Driver Session)

Saturday 17th September

10:05-10:35 - Practice Four

11:50-12:10 - Qualifying

13:45-14:20 - Qualifying Race One - Co-Driver

16:15-16:50 - Qualifying Race Two – Main Driver

Sunday 18th September

9:35-9:55 – Warm Up

13:15-16:50 - Race 20 – Sandown 500


Friday 16th September

10:00am-10:15am - Autograph Session @ Merchandise Alley

Saturday 17th September

8:30am-9:00am - Autograph Session @ Back of Team Garages

12:50pm-1:05pm - Autograph Session @ Merchandise Alley

Sunday 18th September

11:20am-11:50am - Autograph Session @ Back of Team Garages


- The closest race-winning margin is held by Jason Bright & Mark Winterbottom, when they finished 0.1586 of a second in front of brothers Rick & Todd Kelly in 2006.

- Only once has the entire field finished a pre-Bathurst 500km endurance race – all 28 starters finished the 2011 Phillip Island 500.

- Jason made his Sandown 500 debut in 1997 co-driving with Alan Jones in Stones-run Komatsu Falcon – just his second ever appearance in a V8 Supercar, and finished 3rd!

- This year is the 45th running of the Sandown touring car endurance race, which has been known as the Sandown 500 since 1984.

- Jason Bright pairs with Andrew Jones in the endurance races for the 6th consecutive year.


LIKE US on Facebook ‘Team BOC’ & FOLLOW US on Twitter: @teamboc / @ijasonbright & Instagram: @teambocv8sc / @ijasonbright

Published: 12 September 2016.


Warning: include(/home/teamboc/public_html/teamSpecific/2019/includes/content/footerInclude.inc): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/bjracing/public_html/includes/footer.inc on line 17

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/home/teamboc/public_html/teamSpecific/2019/includes/content/footerInclude.inc' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/bjracing/public_html/includes/footer.inc on line 17

© Copyright 2019 Brad Jones Racing