Warning: include(/home/teamboc/public_html/teamSpecific/2019/includes/common.inc): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/bjracing/public_html/includes/common.inc on line 43

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/home/teamboc/public_html/teamSpecific/2019/includes/common.inc' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/bjracing/public_html/includes/common.inc on line 43
- 2019 V8 Supercar Championship Season - News - THE FAREWELL RACE


Qualifying (Race 29)

Qualified: 16th – 1:27.5860 / Provisional Pole Position: Shane Van Gisbergen – 1:26.9518


Top Ten Shootout

Pole Position: Garth Tander


Race 29 / 250km

Finished: DNF / Winner: Shane Van Gisbergen



Hot conditions were on the cards again for qualifying today, and Jason was set to start his final race for Team BOC from position 16. On the first lap Bright was hit by Chaz Mostert who sent him off track, and Bright was forced to scramble back on the end of the queue in position 25 and after another run off he went a lap down. A safety car appeared at the ideal time for Team BOC and not only was Jason able to gain his lap back, he was now at the end of the queue. With all drivers having enough fuel and tyres for the final stint home it was going to be a 30-lap battle to the finish. As the race resumed, Jason was caught wide on turn 5 and hit the wall, doing just enough damage to the rear end to cut short his final race with Team BOC and Brad Jones Racing. Not the farewell race we wanted to share with you today.

On a lighter note, overnight the team hand wrote well wishes for Brighty inside his driver’s door for his final drive in the Team BOC Commodore today. Over 7 years there have been many wonderful memories created by Jason and Team BOC, including the team’s first ever Supercars win and winning the inaugural Jason Richards trophy. After 98 rounds, we say farewell to a great friend, and a brilliant driver. We wish Jason all the best for the next chapter in his Supercars career.


“Shame not to finish my last race with Team BOC today. It didn’t go very well from the start, we were lucky ot get our lap back and I got caught out behind Lee at turn 5 which got me on the marbles and into the wall. I’m more disappointed about not finishing my last race here after 7 years.”

“I want to thank everyone in the team, a lot of these guys have been here the whole time I’ve been at BJR. It’s a great bunch of guys, a fun team and I’ve enjoyed a lot of success in my time here. I’m very happy to have got their first win in Supercars and win the JR Trophy; seeing the emotions and joy those achievements bought the team was truly fantastic.”


2017! Nick Percat will line up in the #8 Brad Jones Racing Commodore in 2017, with more to be announced in the coming months. Watch this space.


2016 Virgin Australia Supercars Champion – Shane Van Gisbergen ‘

2 – Jamie Whincup

3 – Scott McLaughlin

4 – Craig Lowndes

5 – Will Davison

17 – Jason Bright


LIKE US on Facebook ‘Team BOC’ & FOLLOW US on Twitter: @teamboc / @ijasonbright & Instagram @teambocv8sc / @ijasonbright

Published: 04 December 2016.


Warning: include(/home/teamboc/public_html/teamSpecific/2019/includes/content/footerInclude.inc): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/bjracing/public_html/includes/footer.inc on line 17

Warning: include(): Failed opening '/home/teamboc/public_html/teamSpecific/2019/includes/content/footerInclude.inc' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/bjracing/public_html/includes/footer.inc on line 17

© Copyright 2019 Brad Jones Racing